Different ways to wear a JSK + Bridgerton Experience in Toronto

Hi everyone! Recently my best friend @AmourVelourInteriors from college invited me to go to the Bridgerton Ball with her, she is a fan of that Netflix Show. I’ve also seen a lot of lolitas in my comm have attended this event, which also makes me want to go! I actually had no idea what I should wear to the ball, you might be like but Dearie you have so many dresses to choose from! Even though I have not seen the Bridgerton series, but from what I’ve seen in articles and posts, the characters wore Regency era dresses which are ankle length & empire waist. So I realized I don’t actually have that many options to choose from *sweating emoji*.

Then I had an idea to use different items in my wardrobe to build a Bridgerton inspired outfit, I had a pink puffy sleeve cropped blouse (it was originally a body con dress, but I hacked it into two pieces).

Then I decided to coord it with this Emily Temple Cute lace up JSK.

This coordinate actually looks very cute already, it reminds me of Rapunzel from Disney’s Tangled! But this is the not vibe I’m going for, so I’m going to layer it with this frill ribbon camisole dress from Rose Marie Seoir to create an empire waist cut!

It looks so different right!?

I also invited my coworker to the Bridgerton Ball, because she also loves to dress up and she is new to Toronto, so I figured this event would be an amazing event for her to experience. She was definitely pumped for it and told me she was ready to be a princess! I lend her my tulle jsk from pennyhouse (I can’t remember the official name), triple fortune flower headband, my petticoats and shoes, technically it’s like a loltia transformation! It also made me feel like we were 2 girls helping each other to get ready for prom!

We actually had a hard time finding the venue, because it’s so secluded?? We had to follow other cars, so that we can find the right entrance. The venue is actually at the Netflix studio’s building!

Luckily we made it to the check in time, we were advised to arrive 30 minutes early to our time slot. We had some drinks before the performance began, I had the Penelope’s lemonade, which was really refreshing!

Though we missed our chance to curtsy to the Queen, because the line was way too long! I guess everyone would love to meet her Majesty! We danced for a bit and watched the performance as well, the performance was actually interactive, so the actors would pick a guest to dance with them!

It was a bit awkward when we were learning how to dance because we had to pair up, but there were 3 of us! There was a young girl invited me to dance, so that was fun!

They were also selling crowns, gloves and the Pat Mcgrath x Bridgerton collab makeup collection, but I have also spent too much money recently, so I didn’t buy anything.

After the performance was ended, we lined up for the photo ops, we actually only took photos at the “Yours Truly” photo op, because the lines were really long and we had plans after the ball, so we couldn’t stay for too long. But the photo op was stunning, it really did make me feel like a princess!

Overall I had a great time at the Bridgerton Experience, the part that I enjoyed the most was watching the actors performed on the dance floor, it was so romantic and also a little bit ~scandalous~ at the same time!

I also feel like this event is like prom for adults! My friends and I enjoyed seeing what the guests were wearing, some have worn regency era dresses, tulle ball gowns, traditional dresses from the guest’s culture and modern formal wear. I believe the Bridgerton series and the current cottagecore/fairycore fashion trend have inspired many people who are outside of the alternative fashion scene to dress up, and I’m happy about that because it helped them to discover and develop their fashion style.

My next blog post is going to be the Winter International Lolita Day, so stay tuned!

One thought on “Different ways to wear a JSK + Bridgerton Experience in Toronto

Leave a comment