100 gecs Live at History in Toronto April 22, 2023

Hi everyone! I went to see 100 gecs last month, that show was exactly how I imagined it to be! I was having post-concert depression for a few days, but that means it was an amazing show! This is my second time seeing them live, the first time was at Osheaga in Montreal. It was funny because few months ago I remember thinking, “Aw I really wish they will tour again soon!” And they did! Their new album 10,000 gecs also finally released on March 17, 2023. The gec fans in Toronto are super excited for them to come, especially their show was rescheduled but then get cancelled during the covid capacity limits for concert venues in Ontario.

I arrived at HISTORY around 3:45pm, my concert friend Alex arrived at 3:30pm, there was about 15 people ahead of us. I think we arrived at a great time, because the line went all the way around the venue at 6pm! There was a couple fast food restaurants like Harvey, Burger Priest & Country Style nearby, so a lot of fans would grab a burger & soda while waiting in line.

Me taking a bathroom selfie at the Cineplex which is near the History concert hall.

Originally I planned to wear old school lolita to the gec show, but I was worried it would be too warm in the venue (Spoiler: it’s actually not as warm as I thought lol). So I decided to wear girly kei instead, which it is also a popular jfashion style for concert look!

Coordinate Rundown:

Blouse: Hot Topic

Skirt: Secret Honey

Bows: Dear My Love & Secret Honey

Shoes: Doc Martens

(I was going to wear my Dear My Love pumps, but gotta protect my toes!)

Can you guess how many bows I had on me? 😉 It was 5! I had 2 bow hair clips on my twintails, 1 bow hair clip on the back of my hair, 1 bow brooch for my collar and 1 back bow on my skirt’s bustle.

Stock photo from Secret Honey

I just wanna say this bustle skirt from Secret Honey was a steal! It was originally 10,780 yen but I got it for 4,333 yen.

To be honest, you couldn’t even see the bustle and back bow because I wrapped my jacket around my waist once I got inside. I didn’t have time for coat check!

There was a lot of fans dressed up at the show too! Basically every style you can imagine (goth, punk, emo, barbiecore, kidcore, rave etc…), you can probably see it at the show. It was almost like we were at Monster High! I remember there was a lot of fishnet tights & gloves too, fishnet is always an iconic choice! I enjoyed seeing everyone’s outfits especially the girls in clown makeup with OTT accessories and also the fan in Laura Les wizard cloak.

There was a Horse Betting place and a movie theatre next to the concert venue, so the gamblers were so confused to see us in our alternative fashion outfits and children who just finished watching the Super Mario Bros movie (they had toad masks on!) were also smiling at us.

Finally the door opened at 7pm, Alex, his friends & I were able to make to the barricade! I got a closer view compared to my last time at Osheaga. Some fans were airdropping meme, and I received some funny ones and some cursed ones as well.

Machine Girl opened at 8pm, I remember during their last song, Machine Girl stage dove into the crowd. I could not see what was happening in the pit (though I was few steps away from the pit), but I bet it was going hard. Not gonna lie, I was a bit worried Alex & I would get hurt if they landed on us.

At 9pm, 100 gecs had hit the stage, they started with Dumbest Girl Alive with Sicko Mode intro (which is a Toronto exclusive?! 👀)

Omg you all, I don’t know how to describe it :’) , but I remember I was just overwhelmed with excitement. We were all chanting “I’m the dumbest girl alive” while Laura was singing her verse, that made me feel so powerful?!

I just couldn’t help but smiling at Laura, because I was just so happy! If anyone heard me yelled “Live in dog years and I feel 26. Yeah I’m old bitch BUT I LEARN NEW TRICKS.” during “757”, sorry I got too excited!

I did remember I had to hold on to the barricade’s rail the entire time so that I could reposition myself. I also felt like my body was tilting to the side and if I let go of the barricade, I would fall down. I believe Alex & I were getting pushed to the further left of the stage because of the pit. I also felt like someone’s stiletto nails poked my back, but it’s okay they probably didn’t mean to do that.

When Laura & Dylan were singing “Fallen 4 U”, they had set up a stage cam so it filmed fans at the first couple rows. I also showed up on their stage screen 😳, I wasn’t expecting at all! I had to say this was one of the most memorable parts of the show!

Okay, the next part is going to be a bit sad, and I have to say ironic as well. They were playing the acoustic version of “Gec gec gec”, for some reason I was not sure why people were still pushing during the chillest song in their set? At some point, I flagged down the security guard and told him I was about to pass out. He grabbed me from the barricade and carried me to the medic room. After I regained my consciousness, I saw the medic was monitoring my blood sugar level and they told me it was really low. They gave me some Gatorade to drink. I could actually still hear Laura singing in the background. After they have checked my blood sugar level has returned to normal, they told me to take a few steps and spin around, they said I could return to the show if I want.

And I did! I stood at the very left side of the stage so I wasn’t as overwhelmed as before, thankfully I could still catch their encore. I was very surprised they played “gec 2 u”, it’s my favourite song in the 1,000 gecs album. Even though I missed “Money Machine” because I was still recovering, it is okay because I’ve heard them perform in Osheaga, so I wasn’t too upset. I also messaged Alex that I’m okay, and we met up again outside of the venue.

All of my bows were still intact after the show! ✌️

Overall, I had an amazing experience at the 100 gecs show in Toronto. I could feel they were pouring their heart to perform, and they always have so much energy! Yes, the crowd was quite intense and I did try my best to keep my arms between me and the barricade to protect myself. My body did feel sore the next following days, especially my arms! I had bruises on my forearms, I was actually trying to work on my cosplay and I was like, “How come it is so hard for me to cut fabric with my scissors?” I’m feeling much better as I’m writing this blog post, good thing I’m not that old yet.

Also, please go check out Snakebird’s video below! He is also a gec fan and was behind me while we were lining up at the venue. He also mentioned my outfit in his video!

Leave a comment