How I made my Atlantic Mercy Cosplay

Hi everyone! As promised on my Anime North blog post, I’m going to share how I made my Atlantic Mercy cosplay on this blog post. Most of the materials and accessories were from Michaels Craft Store & Taobao.

Let’s get started shall we?!

I used a bridal corset as the base for Mercy’s bustier, it came with clear straps which is perfect! I specifically chose a bridal corset because it’s white, which made it easier to spray paint it.

The spray paint that I used was the Tulip Color Shot fabric spray paint, I got one in purple and one in blue. I was also able to get them at Michaels. Make sure to use them in a ventilated area and wear a mask, because you don’t want to breath in the toxic chemicals.

I cut out the bottom of the corset and left out the middle panel. If you remember my 100 gecs concert blog post, my arms were pressed against the barricade so hard, and my hands were super sore on the very next day which made the cutting a bit difficult.

I sprayed 1~2 thin layers of the blue fabric spray paint onto the surface, then I realized I definitely need way more tapes to block out the areas that need to be covered, you will see what I mean on the next photos.

Some of the the blue spray paint did get into other areas, but it is okay I was able to cover it later on. While I waiting for the paint to dry, I cut out the pieces from white foam sheets for the bustier’s details, I also used a silver foam sheet for the moon and star pieces.

After I have finished spray painting the bustier, I started working on Mercy’s crown.

I used a black x gold crown from a formal/party accessories store on Taobao as the base, then I used wire to wrap the acrylic crystal around the tops. The acrylic crystals were intended for chandelier pieces/beaded curtains for doorways, but I figured the size would work perfectly for the spiky crystal on Mercy’s crown.

Then I covered the crown and crystal with black spray paint, and used E6000 glue to glue the blue diamond shaped rhinestone onto the base. I got a bunch of blue diamond shaped rhinestones on Taobao in various sizes, because Mercy has a lot of blue diamonds on her Atlantic skin.

More spray painting time!

For the staff, I used a wooden dowel from Canadian Tire as the base, then I spray painted it black, I used wire to wrap the crystal onto the wooden dowel. The holographic crystal piece was from a party decoration store on Taobao, you do have to fold the piece by yourself, it came in 2 pre-cut pieces. All you need to do is fold the pieces along the lines, then make sure the tabs were slid into the right slots correctly.

Tbh it was a bit tricky for me to slide the tabs into the slots because if I slide one tab into the slot, the other tabs would just pop out, it was a bit frustrating!

For the winglets on the staff, they were made out of purple model magic clay. I also used E6000 glue to glue the rhinestones onto the staff.

For the side and back panels of the skirt, I used a dark purple satin fabric that I got on Queen St W like 5 years ago, it originally for another cosplay I wanted to make, but I ended up not making it. I’m glad I have given this fabric a new life.

I used the wrong side of the fabric as the front because I don’t want the bubble patterns to be on the front. I cut out 5 petal shaped patterns from the dark purple fabric.

I bought this pastel glam fabric spray paint kit from the clearance section at Deserres, I really liked that they worked well for dark coloured fabric. Unfortunately, this seems to be an old product because when I opened the box, the paint in the spray bottles look clumpy and even after I shook the bottle, the paint still won’t come out of the nozzle. I ended up using a paintbrush to draw on the pattern on the petals. I can’t really complain, the kit was only CAD$7, and the colours was indeed popping!

For the wings, I used foam sheets for the feathers, then I spray painted them black. I knew I could just get black foam sheets, but I wanted my wings to have some glossy texture. I used heavy wire for the base, my plan was to have the wings insert into the back of the bustier, so I didn’t need to make shoulder straps.

For the necklace, again I used foam sheet as well, then I used the leftover dark purple fabric to create the collar and then I glued on the chunky blue diamonds. At this point, I feel like I must’ve been one of the cosplayers who bought all the foam sheets in Michaels!!! 😂

I noticed once I tried on the wings, they were able to hold their shapes, but once I wore it to the con, they were drooping down. I regretted not using more wire for the base. 😦 Lesson learned.

For the wristlets and gloves, I cut out holographic vinyl sheets and white tape to create the wristlets, and I sewed some light blue diamond shaped rhinestones onto the gloves. Tbh, I was impressed those gloves fit my hands so well, I was afraid they would make my hands look chunky.

Overall I’m pretty satisfied with the cosplay, even though it isn’t a perfect cosplay & there were a few parts that I struggled with. I would definitely cosplay Atlantic Mercy again once I fixed the wings and did some touch ups on the boot covers I got from Classe Wig.

Let me know in the comment if there’s anything part you would like to know more about my cosplay that I forgot to mention on my blog post, until next time!

Leave a comment