Groundhog Day: The re-releases of AP sweet dresses

Hi everyone! I’m back with a new bibliotheca blog post, and the theme is Groundhog Day! It was suggested by our fellow bibliotheca blogger frillSquid. Even though I have not actually seen the Groundhog Day movie (I know… 😭), but I’ve seen movie and TV show featuring time loops such as Happy Death Day and Russian Doll (I love Natasha Lyonne!!), so I definitely get the drift! 😉  

AP has re-released many of sweet lolita’s favourite iconic prints throughout the years, they definitely knew there’s a huge demand for them. This is great news for the OTT sweet lolitas who missed their chances of obtaining their dream dresses before! Here are some of my favourite AP sweet re-releases:

Milky Planet & Sugar Hearts

When I was searching for the old lacemarket listings for Milky Planet from 2018 to 2022, the original release of Milky Planet JSK+headbow set was sold from USD$500 to $800. Similarly, for the original release of Sugar Hearts JSK (which is a dress that lot of sweet lolitas sought for), based on the Sugar Hearts tiered JSK with headbow or without headbow’s listings from 2019 to 2023 was sold from USD$400 to USD $1000, the white colourway was the most popular and most expensive.

Not gonna lie, I was still really surprised at first when AP announced the re-release of Sugar Hearts. It was just like that iconic scene in AHS: Coven, when Madison was resurrected and confronted Fiona the supreme.

After AP “resurrected” Sugar Hearts, the JSK got a new cut. The main differences between the original release vs. re-release are the skirt tiers from new release is at the bottom instead of in the middle (similar to the dream marine jsk); the new release has a square neckline instead of the scrunch neckline. They kept the pastel mini bows and conversation heart buttons in the new release, but the mini bows are located on the bodice instead. I have to agree with Mahou Queen, the original release has all the unique elements, but the new release has kind of become a genetic version of a AP jsk.

Day Dream Carnival

I also would like to talk about the new re-release of Day Dream Carnival. I believe DDC has showed up on a lot of lolita’s wishlists, especially the tier jsk, it’s definitely a dress that makes you feel like a dreamy princess came straight out of a fairytale book. I love the carousel with the gold accents in the border print. Speaking of gold, I remember gold elements like gold shoes, gold scepter, and Madonna crown were so popular in the OTT classic era (around 2014~2017), I still have my gold heels & rococo soul scepter, I’m pretty sure they will make a comeback *rub hands*.

Toys Theme Dresses

The most iconic toys theme dresses that many sweet lolitas would know of are Toy Fantasy, Melody Toys, Dreamy Baby Room, Toy Doll Box & Toy Parade, which featured the AP mascots Lyrical Bunny & Hanikami Bear posing with cute toys & balloons. These prints have been re-released within these few years except for Toy Parade (Original release was in 2007 & 2nd Release was in 2012), I wonder if AP will re-release Toy Parade or even add new colourways or cuts in the future?!

Solid Dresses

I feel like I’m leaning towards AP’s solid dresses recently, I still love prints but there’s something about the 2009 AP sweet solid dresses! I love the arrangement of ruffles, big bows, pearls & layers of tulle (which is my favourite fabric), which shared the similar aesthetics from hime gyaru style. I was so excited when AP re-released Candy Fairy, Dream Doll & Soap Bubbles after 14 years.

For their newer releases such as Topping Heart & Sugar Decoration, I can see the inspirations from AP’s 2009 sweet solid series. Topping Heart has layers of heart shaped dot tulle fabric like Candy Fairy, it also came in the pink x sax, white & pink, & black x pink (in the 2022 re-release) colourways, which are the popular colourways for 2009 sweet. Sugar Decoration has tiers of ruffled tulle on the skirt like the Sugar Time jsk and the sewn-on pearls on the bodice & straps remind me of Dream Doll & Candy Fairy as well.

I’ve created a bingo sheet for popular AP prints that have been re-released. Have you ever owned or will be owning any of these original release or re-release pieces? Let me know in the comments & I wish you all can own your dream dress soon!

Leave a comment