Kei Con Tea Party 2023

Hi everyone, as I’m working on this post, I can’t believe it’s already almost Halloween! October is such a busy and fulfilling month for me, and I can’t wait to share my adventures with you all!

I only went to Kei Con on Sunday for the tea party due to my work schedule, but I still had a great time meeting lolitas from out of town and catching up with my local lolita friends as well.

The tea party was located at the W Toronto’s Skylight rooftop bar, though I found W Toronto’s entrance was a bit hidden? I’m glad they brought out the huge “W” sign in front of their entrance, otherwise I wouldn’t notice the entrance. Luckily, I also met other lolitas that were on their way to the tea party, so we merged together!

I absolutely love the vibes of the rooftop bar.

During the check in session at the tea party, we played the icebreaker games such as find your matching print twin & lolita bingo. I received a tiny piece of paper that contained Belladonna’s print: Fanciful Siren Waltz, so my objective was to find another lolita that has Fanciful Siren Waltz on their tiny piece of paper. Val and I were super lucky because we found each other right away!

The lolita bingo was super fun, I got to meet some new lolitas and learned about their coords & lolita collections. I also loved that we were all working together to help each other with the prompts! I was able to help many lolitas with prompts such as “More than 5 hair accessories”, “Wearing false lashes/gems/stickers”, “Wearing at least 2 petticoats”. I feel like the most challenging prompts might be “Knows how to make macaron”, “Owns Brand novelty item(s)” & “Wearing Guro lolita coord”. Luckily, Rae the organizer was wearing AATP’s Round ‘n’ Round Bandage and Meow Meow Hide and Seek OP & the bandage print on Rae’s dress contained part of guro lolita’s elements.

I also met Saxon Blues again! She is a lolita blogger from Texas, we first met each other at a style swap meet in t-buds. It was funny because I was style swapping with yuka.cchii and I wore her Luna in the Sea OP in navy, and Saxon Blues favourite colour is blue! 😂 I asked Saxon Blues about what places did she visit during her stay in Toronto this time, and she did some shopping at a Japanese cosmetic store and visited the Centre Island which she went during the perfect time! It was quite warm during that weekend.

I got a haunted doll mocktail while waiting for the afternoon tea. It’s very glittery~ It also got a hint of spice as well.
Our spooky afternoon tea!

I was super excited for the afternoon tea! It was a self serve afternoon, my favourite savoury bites would be the salmon pate and the mini charcoal burger. The candy scone was really delicious especially when served with the clotted cream as well. My favourite desserts would be the macaron & chocolate coffin cake.

Catching up with Liz! 🙂

The Designer Q&A session started around 2pm, we had Belladonna, Dollfille, Iris Garden & Haenuli as the designer guests! The question I asked was, “How do you overcome creative blocks?” I would love to hear advice from the guests, especially I struggled with having the motivation to make art sometimes. Haenuli & Dollfille responded with to keep doing it, which means when you continue to make art routinely, it will inspires you to create!

Another funny question submitted from an attendee was, “How would you dress Mana sama? What coord would you put him in?”, and Belladonna’s answer was to dress him in Ice Dream Shoppe. I’m now picturing Mana Sama in a sweet Ice Dream Shoppe’s rainbow coord, it’s super kawaii! 😆

After the Q&A session ended, the designers picked out their favourite coords of the tea party attendee! I actually won the best sweet coordinate, chosen by Belladonna. She said it’s a fierce coord 🔥.

Coord rundown:

Blouse: Pumpkin Cat

JSK: Angelic Pretty’s Milky Planet

Socks & Hat: Angelic Pretty’s Jewellery Jelly

Shoes: 极星海洋 from Taobao

Bag: Milk

Wig: Dalao Home

I had a great time at the Kei Con tea party, I enjoyed meeting a lot of new lolitas & listening to the stories that the designers shared. I even bumped into Mahou Queen, when we were leaving the venue! She is also one of the bibliotheca bloggers, and go check out her blog post about her Kei Con recap, it was her first time visiting Toronto as well!

Thank you for reading! Stay tuned for my next blog post about lolita horror stories & my Montreal trip!

2 thoughts on “Kei Con Tea Party 2023

Leave a comment