Montreal Trip October 2023 (Part 1: Hannah Diamond Concert Report)

Hi everyone! I hope you all are having a spooky & fun October. My friend Joyce (who is in my lolita comm & a hyperpop fan) and I went to Montreal from October 13 to October 14, we stayed in Montreal for only 1 night, mainly to see Hannah Diamond performs in Montreal but our stay was amazing and magical. ✨

Because this blog post is a bit lengthy, so I divided into Part 1 & Part 2. Part 2 will be focus on my shopping experience in girly & alternative fashion boutiques in Montreal.

We decided to take the megabus to Montreal because it was the most economical option for us. The bus fare was about $160/person for the round trip. The megabus terminal in Toronto Union Station actually shares with the GO bus terminal. I really wish they would put more signages in Union Station, because I was having a hard time figure out where is the megabus terminal. Good thing I watched some youtube videos of the Megabus tour in union station, I was able to locate the GO bus terminal.

We board our bus at 8am, even though they advise you to arrive 15 mins early, I arrived 1 hour early instead because I was so nervous and was afraid I would get stuck in traffic! *Sweat drops*

Boarding the bus was super easy, you just show your booking confirmation in your email to the staff, and they will match the reservation code in their list. Then you can store your luggage and get on the bus.

We took a break in Kingston at around 11am

We were actually a bit bummed because we thought we would be getting the double decker bus that we saw in the promo pictures, and we even paid extra to reserve our seats which are upper deck in the second row. They did send out an email to us saying we would getting our refunds for the seat reservations.

The bus ride was about 5 hours and we felt like our butts were going numb halfway through the bus ride, it was great that we could take a break in Kingston, we stretched our bodies & got some snacks.

We finally arrived at Bonaventure station in Montreal at 2:55pm, we decided to have ramen for lunch at Sansotei Ramen at Sainte-Catherine/Rue de Bleury. The walk from Bonaventure Station to Sansotei Ramen was about 17 minutes, but gosh, dragging my luggage on a uphill road was a challenge! There was so many uphill roads in Montreal!

The Tonkotsu ramen was actually really delicious! The broth wasn’t too salty and it has the right amount of flavour. (Hence Joyce and I both enjoyed this location more than the ones in Toronto👀) It was so comforting to have a warm bowl of ramen after a long ride, it really warmed us up and provided us energy to prepare for the Hannah Diamond show!

We took an uber to our airbnb, which was located in the little Italy area. Since we were away from the downtown core, I did notice there was a lot of French speaking Montrealers.

I was debating if I should wear my puffy jacket to the venue, since the weather was still warm, it was like 13 degrees Celsius (55 degrees Fahrenheit), but I was afraid it would get chillier in the evening.

I did wear my puffy jacket at the end, and I’m glad I did because it was so windy!

Our walk from our airbnb to the venue (Bar Le Ritz PDB – Punks Don’t Bend) was about 20 minutes, we were actually the first 2 fans arrived!

Since Miss HD’s Perfect Picture era has a lot of pink, black, ribbon and tutu, so I decided to incorporate these element into my dark girly kei coord as well. I wore a Princess Melody black lacy blouse with a big bow and ruffle necklace, it actually came with the lace gloves as well! Those fingerless gloves still hold a special place in my heart because I used to wear gloves/handwarmers like these when I was in high school. (They are giving ~*Rawr*~). I also layered my tripp NYC tulle skirt with pink bodyline tutus to make my skirt look more poofy & cute, and of course I had to wear the signature Miss HD tights to show my love to her! ❤

The merch table included Miss HD’s limited edition t-shirt & the monogram tights, and also Sineila’s bracelets. I’ve already pre-ordered her limited edition t-shirt & bought the tights before the tour started! 😂

About 9:15pm, Miss HD’s intro started to play which had the variations of her logos & motifs (USB key, SD card, heart padlock, snowflake) and she opened with Poster Girl, which I guessed correctly! She sang songs from both of her new & previous albums/singles including Hi, Concrete Angel, Fade Away & Every Night.

Hannah told us she was very happy that we knew the words to her new album because it released only 1 week ago at that time. She was right 😛 We have been singing and dancing through out the night! Joyce was screaming the lyrics in Affirmations, I was so glad I captured that in video.

I believed Hannah’s set was about 45 minutes, it did feel a bit short which I was wondering was it because if we were having too much fun and time just flew by quickly??

We already made some new friends at the show! We met Gary who was also from Toronto, he wore a sweatshirt with diamond print on it which was so cute. We also met another fan who was rode on the same megabus with us, she recognized me because I was wearing the clear pusheen backpack! I feel like it was definitely a Canada’s East Coast thing to travel from Toronto to Montreal and vice versa to catch your faves perform. I also believe it was because of the performer’s tour budget, so they can only choose between Toronto and Montreal.

We decided to wait outside of the venue to see if we could meet Hannah when she came outside. I did see her getting into her uber, but then Joyce & I both thought it wasn’t a good time to ask for pictures or autographs, so we said bye to her instead. Hannah did see me wearing her merch tights and she told me that they look good on me and she loved them! It was such a sweet moment! ❤

We walked back to our airbnb afterward and I made myself a nongshim spicy cup noodle because I was getting hungry. If you ask anyone from Hong Kong about if they bring cup noodles with them when travelling, they would always say yes! We bring them when we go camping, when we have sleepover, or when we visit non-Asian countries.

Click here to continue with Part 2 !

One thought on “Montreal Trip October 2023 (Part 1: Hannah Diamond Concert Report)

Leave a comment