Girly & Alternative Fashion Boutiques in Montreal (Part 2 of my Montreal Trip October 2023)

Click here to read my experience of the 1st day of my Montreal trip & Hannah Diamond’s concert report!

The next morning, I woke up at around 6am. I wanted to eat breakfast but then I was meeting up with my online friend for brunch, so I walked to a Mcdonald’s nearby to grab a hash brown and iced coffee. Okay, you all, Mcdonald’s iced coffee usually is pretty good, but maybe because I was getting it at 6am, it tasted like shitty bitter water…

I took a nap again once I walked back to my airbnb. Once Joyce & I have woke up, we packed up out stuff and ubered to the brunch restaurant to meet up with my online friend.

The brunch place is called Café St-Barth, I got the smoked salmon omelette and an iced matcha latte. The omelette was really good, it was smooth and soft, and the smoked salmon combined with tomatoes were such a great combo as well.

Me and my online friend Winter, I like how we both wore a white blouse with bow!

Winter & I actually did not plan our outfits together but that was so funny! I asked if she would like to join Joyce & I for our shopping trip and she did!

We first stopped at Boutique 1861, it’s a girly, vintage, cottagecore & formal wear boutique. I first heard about this store through my college bestie Kadicha and someone from my local lolita comm as well. Boutique 1861 has been running for over 10 years, they also have an online store and I remember back then when I was a broke art student, I wanted to buy everything from there. Now I could fulfil my wish to shop at Boutique 1861 in person!

Their store front is so pretty! It looks like a perfect girly bedroom straight from the movies.

My outfit rundown:

Hoodie: Juicy Couture

Blouse & neck bow: Secret Honey

Skirt & hair bows: Dear My Love

Socks: Ma*rs

Shoes: Offbrand Taobao

I didn’t have a chance to take pictures of the store inside, but it also had beautiful French girly decor. There was a lot of poofy pastel and floral dresses when I visited last time.

I ended up buying this babydoll dress with puffy sleeve, the name of the dress is “Kemlie”. I love the cream, pink and lavender tiers, and the ruffles are really cute too!

I wore the dress to the Kim Petras concert 2 days after my Montreal trip and also to my friend’s pre-Halloween party.

We also visited Boutique 1861’s sister store which is Maison garçonne, it sells home decor accessories. I bought a pair sheer white crew socks with bows, I was hoping to wear them with lolita coords during summer time.

Aniol White Sheer Socks from their online store

Our next stop was Boutique Diabolik, they have 2 locations in the Plateau Mont-Royal area, the one we visited was on St Dennis St.

Diabolik is an alternative fashion boutique in Montreal, it carries many alternative fashion brands such as Tripp, Demonia, Killstar & Lip Service. Their store in St Dennis St is huge, I was so excited to browse and look through all of their clothing! I felt like we spent a lot of time in their store. The staff dressed in punk & goth styles as well, it made me so delighted to see there’s a physical space intended for the alternative fashion lovers.

I believe they had lolita dresses about 1 year ago, but I couldn’t remember which brand? When I visited their stores, they did have a lot of pieces that would work for lolita coords, such as the heart shaped purses, frilly blouses, Diabolik’s original coats with fit & flare cut (they are super warm too!).

There was a great selection for pastel goth & cute rave wear as well, I had an eye on a few pieces, but they sold out of my size. 😦 I was also very tempted to get a pair of Demonia boots as well, but I didn’t want to carry the boots with me because I was already carrying my luggage around. Though my friend in Toronto told me that I could’ve wore the new boots instead, it was big brain energy but I guess I didn’t think about that!

I did buy a ruffle choker with a cross, it’s a really cute accessory that I can wear with my girly kei or sweet lolita coords.

We decided to find a cafe to sit down and get some refreshment, and we found this cute & pink cake shop nearby!

It’s called Patisserie Cake Me Up, this cake shop’s interior also has the princess aesthetic with the Victorian style furniture, chandelier and mirror wall.

They also serve afternoon tea! Though we were still full from our brunch earlier, but this would be perfect for the Montreal lolitas.

I ended up getting the lemon meringue tart, which was super delicious, it wasn’t too sweet and it had the right amount of sourness.

We continued to explore the neighbourhood, and we stumbled upon a cat cafe! Look at that kitty, they were taking a peaceful catnap. The cat cafe is called Happy Cat Cafe, after reading the article on the window, I learned that this cat cafe has been running for almost 10 years (which is a-meow-zing!), they started the cat cafe to have a cozy space for cat lovers to relax & hangout with the cats and they designed the space according to the cats’ needs & wellbeing.

Due to our limited schedule, we weren’t able to stop at the cat cafe. I feel like I need to visit them next time when I go to Montreal!

Joyce & I said goodbye to Winter at the Eva B vintage store, it was very nice we could finally see each other in person and Joyce also made a new friend on the trip!

We made a final stop to get poutine, because you can’t go to Montreal without having poutine! We got it at Mister Steer, because I feel like it is one of the closest restaurants to the Montreal megabus terminal that serve poutine. It was a great pick, the poutine was amazing! The cheese curds have the perfect texture, and the gravy wasn’t too salty (I hate salty gravy…)

When we were on our way to the Megabus terminal, we passed by a couple places that serve afternoon tea. Montreal lolita must be lucky to have some many options for afternoon tea in their city. I also noticed one of the afternoon tea groups was all dressed in Barbiecore outfits, perhaps they were having a Barbie theme afternoon tea, which made me super jelly.

I believe we returned to Toronto at 9:30pm, I also had a good night of sleep. Even though Joyce and I only stay in Montreal for 1 night, but we had an amazing time there! We got to see our fav Hannah Diamond performed live, we went shopping together and hung out with Winter! I feel like Montreal is such a fun and vibrant city and there was so many things to explore, I really can’t wait to go back there.

Though I’m super tempted to go back to Montreal in Feb 2024 for Igloo Fest, since 100 gecs are doing a DJ set there! It’s going to so chilly & it’s a outdoor venue, I’m not sure if my body is able to handle it??

This is how I envision the Montrealers in Igloo Fest LOL!

What are your favourite j-fashion friendly places in your city? Comment down below to let me know! 🙂

Leave a comment